Found these LOP (lots-o-potential) chairs at a yard sale recently, and I was so glad to have the long weekend to fix them up!

Image

The first step was to clean the spider webs that had infiltrated the chairs, then I did a quick vacuum and OxyClean of the upholstery.  It was actually in great shape, it just had a couple of small stains that came out quite easily.

I then sanded down the varnish and prepped the chairs for painting by taping off the upholstery sections. I don’t always use painter’s tape, but when it comes to upholstery, I take no chances. An ill-timed sneeze could ruin everything.

I then painted the chairs using Annie Sloan’s Old White – two coats. I only did one coat on the cane side panels because I sort of loved the shabby chic look that gave. After the paint had dried, I sanded corners and edges for an even more cottage-shabby look, sealed the paint with clear wax and that was it!! So thrilled with how they turned out:

Image

ImageImage

To purchase these or see more of my pieces – visit www.facebook.com/encorefurnishingsnashville!

