After some strategic yard-sale-ing last weekend, I found myself in possession of three vintage farm chairs. They were each in fairly good shape, just in need of some glued joints and a coat of paint. I have always wanted a mismatched chair set painted all in one color, and this was my chance! I chose a very pale mint green for the chairs, and I think they turned out beautifully!  Here is a step-by-step how-to on painting these vintage chairs:

Photo-6_14_13-9.54.02-AM-2

First chair, before.

Photo-6_14_13-9.54.02-AM-12

Second chair, before.

 

Chairs Before.

Third chair, half-primed.

Step 1: Assess the structure of each chair and glue joints with wood glue when needed. Each chair needed a little bit of glue on the legs, and the second chair needed some wood-filler on the seat. You could also glue any gaps together and clamp the entire chair, but I decided to go the wood filler route since it would be faster, and I am impatient.

Fill in gaps with wood filler.

Fill in gaps with wood filler.

Step 2: Sand and prime. I always do a light sanding before and after primer. My favorite primer to use is Glidden Gripper because a) you can get it at the Home Depot around the corner from my house and 2) it seems to stick to everything. And when I say everything, I really do mean everything. Case in point: I primed these chairs a few DAYS ago, and just YESTERDAY when I went to get my hair cut, my stylist starts looking through my hair and asks “Have you been painting?” because there was STILL PRIMER STUCK IN MY HAIR. Days later! After multiple showers and hair-washes. I promise I am hygienic. Gripper just sticks. to. everything. forever.

Step 3: Paint!  I painted with a latex mint paint (also Glidden, also from Home Depot). I had the color mixed specially from a sample I brought in. Two coats should do the trick, if you have primed.

Photo-6_14_13-9.54.02-AM-4

First chair drying.

 

Two chairs drying.

Two chairs drying. And a pug butt.

Voila! Three mint chairs!

Voila! Three mint chairs!

Would love to know your thoughts! And, I’m now in the market for a fourth chair to paint to complete this set…send me any leads you can find!

