The front porch is one of those Southern institutions that transcends time and era and age. If you were to put one hundred southerners in a room together and ask them to find one thing to agree upon, that thing would be the glory and beauty of sitting on a front porch at dusk.

This weekend was one of those perfect-weather weekends for sitting on the porch. Saturday was sunny, but not too hot with a light, gentle wind. This morning was rainy in that perfect-for-coffee-on-the-porch-watching-the-storm kind of way. These two days have really made me appreciate my front porch. It’s a wrap-around, victorian porch. Not too big, but just right for me and the pugs. I recently did a bit of work on the porch – replaced the rotting floorboard with composite planks and added a railing and gates.

porch1

View from the corner of the porch….Target table and loveseat, vintage flower side table.

 

Image

The front of the porch.

Image

The pals standing guard.

Image

Side of the porch…complete with two old chairs I updated with some bright yellow paint and a vintage singer sewing machine table.

Image

My beautiful sweet friend Jessica sitting with Nora.

Image

My roommate Jack and sweet Jessica. Totes in love.

Image

Nora, saying “Adios!”

