A few weeks ago, my boyfriend and I were walking down the street to go to a party. We hadn’t even made it a full block when we came across a coffee table on the sidewalk wearing a ‘Take me, I’m free!’ sign. It was in pretty good shape, and my boyfriend was already in position to lift the table when I looked at him to ask if he would mind if we took it home.  Needless to say, we arrived about 15 minutes later to the party than we intended that night.

Here is the table as we got it: solid wood, subtle filigree along the edges. Sort of boring.

Image

I decided the table needed a slight lift, so I opted for Annie Sloan Chalk Paint in “Old White.”  I painted the filigree by hand and then painted the entire top of the table and sides. After it was painted, I sanded the edges and spots on the top to give it a rustic look before finishing the table with clear wax. I am very pleased with the results!

ImageImageImage

