musicroom_beforeandafter copyMy pal Dan just bought a gorgeous upright piano and decided to transform an unused dining room in his house into a music room. He didn’t have too much money to spend on the transformation (he did just buy a piano, after all), so he asked what we could do with the 8×8 room for only $100.

And, (partially because Dan is a dead-ringer for Neil Patrick Harris), my only response was:

Image

It was certainly a challenge. Dan’s only worthy decor included the piano itself and a framed Hatch Show Print of Duke Ellington (which wasn’t even hung up!). To give you an idea…

Image

Good looking piano (though a bit messy…)

Image

Gear everywhere. AH.

Dan’s only requirement is that we have enough room for a couple guitar players to sit and jam. So, my priority was to increase seating (armless chairs for guitarists), and to add just a few pieces of character in order to make things interesting without crowding the small room.

At an antique store, I found two great mismatched cane chairs on sale for $25 each – They were actually in great shape and didn’t have any holes in the cane- what a steal! And, then I also found a small cork checkerboard ($6) and an old washboard ($12). Dan’s a good Virginia boy, so I loved these Southern touches. I rounded it out with a small black side table ($15, Wal-Mart) that could act as another stool during a jam session, a few candles ($3 each, Wal-Mart) and a hilarious book full of black and white cat photos ($3), including a cat playing a piano (oh, Goodwill).

Image

Staging everything in my backyard.

I excitedly brought all the goodies over to Dan’s place and began to set everything up! I hung up Duke Ellington and the washboard on the wall, and I used his guitar amp and acoustic guitar to fill some corners. I love having instruments showcased in a music room; to me, they make the room look like someone actually uses it!

Here’s the finished product:

Image

Image

Image

Note the cat at the piano. On the piano.

Image

I told you he looks like NPH! Happy in his new music room!

I love the simplicity of this room, and I told Dan he had to invite me over for the first jam sesh! Would love to know what you think!

