I found an amazing Mid-century desk for a friend of mine on Craigslist recently:

Image

Adorable, right? And, it reminded me that while I tend to shy away from Mid-Century pieces in my own home in favor of more traditional, French provincial and southern fare, there are certain pieces and shapes that I absolutely adore from Mid-Century collections. I love the clean lines of this desk, and I love how masculine it is (I mean, if this desk asked me out, I would say yes).  Here are a few of my other favorites from this design era:

I find the right angles and simplicity to be very refreshing in this credenza (Source).

Image

This chair provides a fun, retro accent to a room without being over-the-top. I think subtlety is key when going retro, let your house transform into a carbon copy of a funky vintage store (Source).

Image

I saw this great chair in an antique mall here in Nashville, and I fell in love with the plaid! And, again, the right angles are so appealing to me!

Image

I think when I pictured my dream house when I was a little girl, the entire kitchen was this pale yellow (Source).

Image

And, yet again, Anthropologie inspires lust within my heart (Source).

Image

